1989 toyota 22re. Thermostat housing Help

89yota

I'm doing a rebuild on my 89 model 22 re. On my way home from work one day the motor just died on me. It started to get hot but not over heating. Had it towed home. Started it up later that evening an Clouds of white smoke come out the tail pipe! An then I pulled the dip stick and it was milky looking. So I just started doing a rebuild in it. I'm hoping its just a head gasket. On the thermostat housing there's a 6mm Hex bolt that was supposed to be there an I was told they break easy but when I got to it, it wasn't even there. Could that have caused the Coolant to get into the oil? This is my first Toyota an I love this truck the best 4 wheel truck I've ever owned! I'm kinda stuck on the timing chain? Is there anyway possible I can remove the head an keep the timing chain in its place or do I have to remove it? I'm new to this Forum an I would appreciate all the advice. Thanks. I also took Lots of pics because this is my first time rebuilding a Toyota. ImageUploadedByTaco Forum1456892258.165893.jpg