Suspension and Wheels

BlackBessy17

Hi all. I'm excited to find a forum for Tacoma's! I am more or less a complete novice when it comes to these kinds of things. I used to wrench on cars, but it's amazing how much you forget when you don't do it regularly. Any who, I have a 2017 Tacoma off-road and I want to upgrade the suspension, while also lifting it. My friend installed the King setup in his 17' 4-runner, and he suggested that if I want to do it, I should make sure I get Coil overs (and rear shocks) with the remote reservoir and always replace the upper control arm. I looked at the Icon systems, and am noticing that the big differences in the stages are the tubular or billet control arms. Is that a big deal? I don't want to break the bank, but I also don't want to be cheap about it. Also the rear shocks change from stage 4 to 5. I don't do a whole lot off road, mainly looking for a smoother ride when commuting, and better towing. Also, after the lift I can do new rims and tires. I am trying to understand how the offset works with rims. I know I don't want the wheels sticking out past the fenders, but I also don't want to rub. If i did a 2.5"-3" Icon (or King, although i'm not a fan of the blue) can I fit 265/60R18 tires? Maybe trim a little? Thanks in advance and i'm glad to be a part of the community!

Those should fit in stock. 265/75/16, 265/70/17 and 265/65/18 (if that is a size) is the same diameter.

Icons are ok but they have top hat issues. King is pretty much the best out there. You don't need the reservoirs unless you are actually going to use them. Upper arms are not needed unless you are trying to get max lift out of the coilovers but then it may ride harsh because of the preload.

King can make their shocks any color you like.

Last edited:
Those should fit in stock. 265/75/16, 265/70/17 and 265/65/18 (if that is a size) is the same diameter.