Good Morning All

Rock62

Just a short intro.

I'm a semi-retired Engineer. My last stint was 6 years in China mainland with a major power tool company as a manager in the test lab. Returned to the States just before Covid landed.

My '06 Tacoma Access was purchased in Feb '20 with 105,000 miles. I did all the 100k service and replaced valve cover gaskets and plugs. The 5 spoke aluminum wheels were heavily corroded. Purchased a replacement set to refurb. I stripped and painted them a dark grey gunmetal using Sherwin-Williams Auto product from the 2K line. These wheels look great (IMHO) on the white truck. Seems like everyone does black. Replaced all 5 U-joints. Replaced the tired OEM 6 speakers with Pioneer component upfront and Kenwood 3-way in the rear. Now, just waiting on budget to replace the OEM CD head unit.

I have a question about the options for drive control systems. I will post the question in the 2nd section. Doesn't make sense to post the question in the intro section.

Last edited:
Thanks for the Welcome.

Another part of my mechanic excursions is in my Avatar. In 2011, I purchased a 1981 Honda CX500C. It was a wrecked non-running bike. The accident was the bike was rear-ended and went down on the left side against a curb. The left side and rear were heavily damaged. Many days and hours hunting parts just to get tn to start and idle. Then the real repairs began. Mostly electrical issues. Water pump problems, a few engine oil leaks, clutch slip. Once all was running and behaving, then it was time to disassemble and paint. The paint proved to be fairly complex. Primer, silver undercoat, maroon, gold, translucent red, black, decals, clear.......oh and the wet sanding and sanding and sanding and sanding........ so much tape and masking......