Difference in running boards?

Discussion in 'General Tacoma Discussion' started by blacktac777, Jul 12, 2013.

1. blacktac777

blacktac777 New Member

Hi all, im a newbie to the truck world and just bought my Tacoma last week. I wanted to put on running boards so my kid can get on but saw a bunch of different names. Can you guys explain the difference in running boards, nerf bars, and sliders?

2. Avatar

Tacoma Forum Sign Up!

Join TacomaForum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Toyota truck fan? If so we invite you to join TacomaForum.com. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Toyota Tacoma Fans to meet online.
    Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Toyota Tacoma fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your Tacoma you'll find that TacomaForum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join TacomaForum.com Today! JOIN FOR FREE

3. whippersnapper02

whippersnapper02 Negative Nancy

Running boards are flat extensions:

[​IMG]

Nerf bars are pretty much the same as running boards but in a bar form. Some look like the warp nacelles from the Enterprise:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Sliders are generally for rocker panel protection so they are tucked up high which kinda makes them useless for steps. They are also built to support the truck's weight:

[​IMG]

4. TacoJoe11

TacoJoe11 Well-Known Member

Personally I like the hooped step bars over the oval step bars. Test drove a couple of Tacomas before I got mine, they had the factory oval step bar and I found myself tripping over them everytime I got out of the vehicle. I guess I'm just not used to having those. I like the "hooped" bars because the step doesn't run the whole length of the doors...and I like they way they look.

http://www.autotrucktoys.com/toyota-tacoma/images/SMBNerfStepBlack_a.jpg

5. HellaNella420

HellaNella420 Well-Known Member